Central Tibetan Administration

From left to right: The Speaker of the Tibetan-Parliament-in-Exile, Mr Penpa Tsering, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama and Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay.

Since his escape into exile to India in 1959, the Dalai Lama has been very committed to set-up democratic institutions for the Tibetan people. In 1963 he presented a draft democratic constitution for Tibet that was followed by a number of reforms to democratize the administrative set-up. In 1990, the Tibetan Cabinet (Kashag), which till then had been appointed by the Dalai Lama, was dissolved along with the Tenth Assembly of Tibetan People’s Deputies (Tibetan parliament in exile). In the same year, exile Tibetans elected 46 members to the Tibetan Assembly. The Assembly, in its turn, elected the new members of the cabinet. In September 2001, a further major step in democratization was taken when the Tibetan electorate directly elected the Sikyong, the senior-most minister of the Cabinet. The Sikyong in turn appointed his own cabinet who had to be approved by the Tibetan Assembly. In 2011, the Dalai Lama has taken a historical decision to transfer his administrative and political powers to a democratically elected Tibetan leadership.